CREST Awards Registration is Open!

Here’s What You Need To Register:

About the FCA CREST Awards

WHY CREST: The Contractors Recognizing Excellence in Safety Training (CREST) Awards was created to provide international recognition to contractors who maintain effective safety programs. CREST Winners and Top Finishers are internationally-recognized for their commitment to safety excellence.

Explanation of Data

An award winner is chosen from each of the following categories. The categories are broken down by trade and annual hours. Additionally, the top 10 contractors in each category are recognized with a certificate as a Top 10 Contractor.

Companies are required to submit basic information followed by data associated with the leading and lagging measures. Formulas have been created to standardize values for these measures.

Architectural Glass & Metal 1 – 25,000 hours
Drywall Finishing 25,001 – 50,000 hours
Flooring 50,000 – 100,000 hours
Industrial Coating 100,001 – 150,000 hours
Painting& Wallcovering 100,001 – 150,000 hours
Sign & Display

Safety Program Efforts

For the leading measures, or evaluation of safety effort, the following data is collected:

  • Years the company has had a written safety program in place
  • Safety training orientation for all new employees
  • Employment of a full-time safety representative
  • Ongoing safety training
  • Number of employees who have current OSHA 10 or 30 training, which is OSHA’s basic, construction outreach training needed for supervisors
  • Safety program impact on the company

Safety Program Results -- EMR Trend

EMR is a measure of a company’s losses versus an expected loss for a company in that industry. Fewer losses or injuries/illnesses are equated with a better safety program. However, this calculation is based on a three-year average. To effectively use this measure, the trend over a four-year period offers a better picture of performance.

OSHA Log Data

The following are measures using the totals from a company’s OSHA’s Form 300A Summary of Work-Related Injuries and Illnesses. Using the formulas established by OSHA, as noted below, FCA creates a level playing field by converting the total numbers to a rate per 100 employees. The FCA CREST Awards incorporate the rate into a formula that compares the various applicants and assigns a relative score to each.

Entrants are evaluated based on the following OSHA Log Data:

  • Total number of fatalities (fatalities are a critical factor and any fatalities occurring in the calendar year disqualifies the entry)

  • Recordable Incident Rate (RIR) Trend over a four-year period

  • Recordable Incident Rate (Total Cases x 200,000 / Total Hours of Exposure)

  • Lost Work Day Case Rate ([Deaths + Days Away Cases x 200,000] / Total Hours of Exposure)

  • Severity Rate (Days Away from Work x 200,000 Hours / Total Hours of Exposure)

  • DART Rate (Cases of Days Away from Work and Days of on the Job Transfer or Restriction) Restricted, Transferred and Lost Workday Cases x 200,000 / Total Hours of Exposure

The Safest Contractors in Construction

Winners and Top Finishers – CREST Awards 2022 for 2021 Performance

FCA International is proud to recognize the following contractors for their consistent commitment to safety excellence. CREST Winners and Top Finishers are among the safest contractors in their industry.







Lehn Painting
Batavia, OH


Aetna Bridge – Warwick, RI Henderson Johnson – Syracuse, NY
AJL Design & Installation, Inc. – Brooklyn, NY Innovative Painting and Waterproofing LLC – Santa Fe Springs, CA
Alliance Partition Systems. – Arlington, WA Murphy Industrial Coatings – Signal Hill, CA
Architectural Glass & Metal, Inc. – Clifton Park, NY Niles Industrial Coatings – Fenton, MI
Bazan Painting Co. – St. Louis, MO Scott Painting & Decorating – Rock Island, IL
Blasz Construction, LLC – Feasterville, PA Southwest Specialty Coatings – Fenton, MO
ECL Engineered Coatings Ltd. – Ayr, ON S & S Coatings – Spokane, WA
Empirehouse – Mounds View, MN Titan Industrial Service – Baltimore, MD
F.D. Thomas, Inc. – Central Point, OR Vulcan Painters – Bessemer, AL